newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

A Tone Deaf Person's Passion for Music

2006-12-28 9:56 p.m.

It seems like music hits you at particular points in your life. And maybe they�re at the same time for everyone. That first wave of musical passion hits at around 11 or 12, when you first realize that it exists in a form that is not peddled on Sesame Street. There might be some musical prodigies out there who experience this at age six or something, but I think for us normal folks, the previously stated age is about right. It sort of coincides with puberty; that time of anger, passion and realization that never really occurs again. Though I�m sure most people regard that time of their lives as living Hell, I think upon closer examination it proves to be a unique time of growth and of discovering who you are. For instance, before pubescence, my musical tastes were all MC Hammer and Rainbow Bright soundtracks. Suddenly, at age eleven, pudginess and Pearl Jam came into my life. Before that, anger, despair and passion would have meant absolutely nothing. Although sex would mean nothing to me for another five years (at least), songs about love, sex, broken hearts and lust seemed to suddenly make sense on a visceral level. The shrieking and screaming of my favorite grunge and metal bands found a place in my adolescent heart.

Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Guns n Roses and Metallica dominated my early tastes. There was just something heartbreakingly beautiful to a tween girl�s heart and ears about a young man�s despair. Middle school just HAD to be a torturous time for everyone, I�m convinced. One incident sticks out in perfect relief for me. For whatever reason (I�m sure my skulking around not making eye-contact had something to do with it) my gym class in sixth grade (let�s pause for a moment and think about how awful that set of words is�) decided to nickname me IGOR. It just wouldn�t go away. In fact, it kept building to the crescendo of a day when a song was created and a seemingly unending rain of rocks showered upon me. Katie Young (a skinny, ugly girl in middle school) grasped my hand and we ran to the counselor�s office, her sympathy totally foreign to me. God only knows how a gym teacher could have allowed such a thing, but I know (despite almost sure exaggeration) it happened. I survived that year by allowing my desire for truthfulness to be overwhelmed by my desire for acceptance. I used to offer to let people cheat off me in science class; where I achieved a perfect 100% and became the object of (creepy) admiration for a Mr. Mansour.

The rest of middle school seemed to pass with (what now seem) minimal difficulties. I loved hard rock and metal then. This was probably because my brother and my best friend liked them. I�ve just admitted that a certain person was my best friend at the time; something I�ve never done before. �Closer� by Nine Inch Nails rocked my world, but I was unable to accept it then. I would chant the words with vigor, anger and what I thought was passion at the time�but would leave out the all-important �FUCK,� much to the amusement and chagrin of my friends at the time. A boy that I had a crush on signed my yearbook with a drawing of �Igor�. I gave him total shit about it and he apologized; the first time I can remember my sort of bitchy attitude taking hold and making someone feel shame.

An important thing to mention at this time would be that this whole time I was attending a VERY small sort of family church. My brother and cousin played guitar. We all sang. No one would have dreamt of telling me I couldn�t sing. In fact, I sang throughout elementary and middle school with confidence.

High school arrived. With it the attitude that although I knew I was smart, I just didn�t care that much�like my brother. You see, I saw us as twins, separated by eight years. He hated high school, therefore, so would I. If I had been capable of being a goth in 1993 would have donned terrible looking black hair and makeup. The truth was, despite myself, I cared. I couldn�t help but care about grades, morality and rightness. It was bred into me. I couldn�t help it. I tried to fight off everyone�s impression that I was a goodie goodie smart ass by wearing terrible clothing and striped stockings. I think this just convinced most students and teachers that I was an �Individual�. Musically, I began to accept the music my father had played my whole life: The Beatles and Led Zeppelin. I�d make poor quality tapes from his records and bring them with me to Newspaper. I tried to impress visitors to my house with my Dad�s well-used Beatles albums. Music seemed bigger and better than ever in this time of love.

Whilst in love, I still adhered to the Beatles, but found room in my heart for Radiohead, Alainis Morrisette, and (God, these fuckers linger in my soul), The Counting Crows). All of these seemed to speak directly to me. I had decided, for the most part that music from my Dad�s (I�d like to include my Mom, but she was way more Motown and Gospel than I willing to accept at the time) era was the only shit worth listening to seriously. In fact. I tore apart several bands in my high school newspaper, which I�m too afraid to retrieve from my trunk for fear that I�ll sound like a pompous idiot (well, I sound like that already, but I�m too drunk to do anything properly).

As I became a college student, I began to realize just how much was out there. I heard free-style for the first time and realized its artistry. Before I thought rap and hip hop was all ridiculous; perpetrated by idiots.
Hearing freshly-created rhymes made me realize that it was unbelievably talented people that manipulated language to create a kind of poetry that reflected reality and passion I never knew as a white, commuting suburbanite. I soon became to become a poet for a short time. For a short bit, I was able to understand rhythm and language enough to create poems that actually sounded like I felt. Right now I'm passionate about the Great Lakes Myth Society; which passionately captured my heart on Halloween. I also am newly in love with the Hard Lessons, which make music fun again...

1 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: The Jesus Passion beats everything.

Today I Saw: A Stack of Blue Cards

The Weather is: Cold. It should be SNOWING.

Take my survey!