newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

GLMS

2007-01-13 2:34 a.m.

Ok. So don't give me total shit about only updating when I'm drunk. This time I'm actually excited about something.

I truly heart this local band called The Great Lakes Myth Society. I've been jazzed for like two weeks to see them at the Lager House. So jazzed that I thought about making posters at home or at work to promote them. School and work got in the way, but I was seriously considering it. Tonight's show kicked total ass. I have seen them live twice before, at the Magic Stick which is an alright venue, but man they came ALIVE at the Lager House. They were headliners which was the exact opposite of what we thought, but I am so glad that was the case. They had all night to sip on the Stroh's or PBR, get a feel for the crowd, enjoy the two other bands (The Sterns and Chris Plum and the Administration) and just get hyped up. To the uninitiated, their music can sound folky and possibly serious, but live, they show that they clearly love to perform. They rock out to songs that have accordion as the dominant instrument...I know that sounds wacky, but trust me, it's awesome.

So do yourself a favor and go to their Myspace page or their homepage.

People with any connection to Michigan or the Great Lakes will probably find a special place in their hearts for these guys, but I really think their thoughtful lyrics, massive musical talent and well...I dunno... awesomeness can appeal to anyone.

I'm blissful from their show, and that hasn't really happened in awhile, so despite the slight dread I'm feeling of having to work tomorrow morning, I'm trying to savour (yeah. British spelling, fuck off) it before I go to bed thrashing with nightmares.

Night all.

K.

0 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: Won me back with the Christmas stuff...

Today I Saw: An attractive lead singer with minimal charisma and a bass player with loads to spare.

The Weather is: Icky poo poo.

Take my survey!