newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Guttermouth

2004-06-08 1:11 a.m.

Dear Diary,

I have hit a new high (low?) of desperation. I am so desperate for money that I am now willing to do manual labor for pay.

Yesterday, while hanging out with my brother and sister-in-law, they asked me if I would be willing to clean their gutters for $50. I probably frightened them with my eager "YES!" but we had a deal.

Today, I did the job. It wasn't that bad. I just scooped out handfuls of dirt and maple seedlings onto the ground from a high ladder. I'm sure there are some people that would find that kind of work detestable, but I've never been one of those people. I actually kind of enjoy cleaning really dirty things. It's easy to see your progress, and it really seems like you're doing something.

My brother's house is tall. I attempted to reach the high gutters by using the ladder unsafely. I sounded like I was in Lamaze the whole time, trying not to awaken the panic within. I was only able to clean half of this gutter because my ladder would have gotten caught on their telephone wire.

Cleaning the gutters also allowed me to utilize a really cool hose attachment. Utilize is too strong a word. Spray myself and everyone around me is more appropriate.

The job was well worth $50 to me, even with the extra stinky gutter scrapings that I know would have made my brother gag had he the strength and lack of fear to climb the ladder himself.

It's nice to earn money. Even if your brother gave it to you.

Kelly

2 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: Cannot stop staring at the Elle "Girl with the Pearl Earring" outtake

Today I Saw: A box of cinnamon Tic-Tacs

The Weather is: Balmy

Take my survey!