newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Leading up to Christmas

2007-12-12 12:56 a.m.

Sometimes there's nothing better than emerging from your bedroom after a few hours of reading and near-sleep. It has this odd way of making you feel like you've changed. Like the visqueened windows, dark curtains and blankets have housed a metamorphosis. It could also be what you had to drink, or the dark thoughts you've had, or the consoling you've done.

But sometimes, just sometimes, you emerge to find that you haven't changed so much as something new was added to the universe. I checked my email this early morn, as I usually do when I'm conscious, and found that there were two remixes of Great Lakes Myth Society songs on their My Space Page . Somehow more beautiful and ethereal than the original songs themselves, and perfect for this time of year.

I found myself listening to Christmas songs on the way to work and not minding the rain in my eyes. In fact, I began to imagine that some person who could look impossibly close at me would see raindrops on my eyelashes and find it beautiful. I'm ambivalent about Christmas these days, as my life sucks and I don't have too many people that I find dear to spend the holiday with. I love and want to be with my family, sure, but I miss the days of sledding and traveling to friends' houses after the Christmas madness. A fresh-aired relief that no one begrudged me. On occasion, though, when I'm not wishing I had the balls to call into work, or praying for some present-bearing fairy to drop off the rest of my Christmas shopping + beer, I think about the holiday as a time to express love, to show your fellow man that you are happy he exists. Christmas is strange. I've felt the nightmarish pressure and near-evil that working at a retail store (in a mall no less!) can bring. It brought me to tears in the store and caused me to declare war on my customers. I can't help, though, when a snow flake falls on my face, to remember what it feels like to be giddy about a gift that I'm giving...that I know is perfect. That I know the person will love. I did that recently...give a gift that I knew would not be returned, because I planned it that way. And I was right, it was perfect. And it made me happy.

0 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: Sorry to miss you this Christmas Clay...

Today I Saw: Me beat three song challenges on DDR!

The Weather is: Raining.

Take my survey!