newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

ELFest 2007

2007-06-03 10:43 p.m.

This will be my poor attempt at recalling one of the most awesome experiences of my life the day after it happened. Since I went alone, I have no one to yell at me for getting something wrong. I had debated with myself for a week about attending ELFest, a backyard music festival featuring all Michigan bands that had been organized by the lovely folks at Just Haircuts and Jackets. I'd definitely be going alone, and I'd be making an hour and a half trip to East Lansing in a car that had yet to be tested on long distances. But as Saturday approached, the lure of seeing my favorite band play in someone's backyard was overwhelming. Friday night I spent $40 on water, Vitamin Water, Clif Bars, a cooler and sun block (60 SPF). You see, when there's no one to tell me to relax, I, uh, don't relax. My major worries about this trip were as follows: 1) Parking. Anyone who knows me knows that I not only suck at parking, but I worry about sucking at parking and that I may actually never find a parking place. 2) Timing. I'm one of these notoriously early people for things that I'm excited about. I tend to overthink these things and then end up earlier than is even normal for me. I pictured myself arriving 20 minutes early with a backpack full of salsa and hanging around while Annie and Erik were still setting up. 3) Having no one to talk to. My mind was working overtime on this one, crafting an image of a sad, fat girl in a straw hat repelling people with her plaintive stare. I'm happy to say, for the most part, none of these nightmares came true. I left the house at nine thirty, got McDonald's breakfast and hit the highway at around 10. It was smooth sailing sponsored my Mapquest, and the random play all function on my mp3 player. It was about 45 minutes into the trip that I had missed the perfect opportunity to make GLMS the soundtrack to my Michigan mini-roadtrip. Oh well, I managed to hear three of their songs before I got off on my last exit. After locating the house, I realized that my poor parking abilities would be much improved if I evacuated my bladder. Why is it that when you need a bathroom, it seems none can be found? I located a Blimpie, noticed with some aggravation that they were the kind of place that required a purchase to pee, and went inside. I paid a dollar for a Mt. Dew and received the overlarge key chain that is typical of these kinds of places. I pissed, and was on my way to finding parking on the beautiful side streets of East Lansing. Easier said than done, my friend. Many streets allowed no parking, ever, don't even think about it motherfucker! Others limited it to certain hours. After circling the area more widely, I did find a place with no signs and brought my car to a stop twenty minutes before the party was meant to start. Shit. A call to my brother killed the appropriate amount of time. I then strapped on my backpack, gathered up my Garden Fresh Gourmet chips and salsa and walked three blocks to ELFest. I walked into the backyard, paid my $5 donation, had my hand scrawled on and took my food into the kitchen. It was then that I vowed to myself to try to introduce myself even if it seemed dumb. Normal adults introduce themselves to people they don't know. Despite this vow, it was still a bit awkward standing around while everyone else talked to people they knew. It was thus a relief when it was announced that the first band, The Kid Breaks would be going on soon.

THE KID BREAKS

I really liked these guys. Well written songs and good musicianship combined with a self-depreciating sense of humor made for a good opening. Later the lead singer would wisely change out of his vest, shirt and tie and into a spectacular Rod Stewart T-shirt. I wish I had a picture of that to show you. The keyboardist, barely visible in the picture had made super-cute pins out of felt, buttons and thread. I bought one because it matched my shirt and because I believed her claim that the proceeds would be paying for gas for her trip home.

JESS KRAMER

Jess came out in her awesome, homemade shirt and played a really interesting set featuring keyboards, guitar and vocals. I really liked her lyrics. It always amazes me to see performers do the one-man-band routine. At several points in her show, she would be playing the keyboard while crouched down underneath it, prepared to twist a knob on her foot pedal.

TIM MONGER

I have to admit that I was super-jazzed about seeing Tim play solo, because I've only ever seen him play in GLMS. I was right to be excited because I got to see the type of show that fans of music dream about: small, intimate and in a disarming setting. Tim told the stories behind the songs he was performing. He also kept reminding us (usually right after strumming the wrong chord) that he only played one show a month. At some point during his set, it occurred to me to pull out my mp3 player and record. I was actually thinking of Leah, and how she might enjoy hearing it later. The recordings I did make turned out quite well, to my delight. What you may or may not hear is Annie's child neighbors shrieking with delight while playing on their swingset. You'll probably hear Tim saying, in the middle of a song, "OH MY GOD! What's happening!?"

DRUNKEN BARN DANCE

In between Tim's set and this one I finally started actually talking to the guy sitting next to me. It was nice. I had been looking around and saw, much to my chagrin that the one thing I had forgotten to bring was beer. DUH. So I asked the guy next to me if there was a liquor store close by. Indeed there was a "QD" three blocks from the house. Hmmm. Despite my desperation for beer, I felt that it would be foolish to miss an act called "Drunken Barn Dance." It turned out that DBD was one guy named Scott. He was quite good. I especially liked his song "A Winter's Tale," which he usually sings in the winter to bolster himself against the harsh Michigan season that he hates so much. He said that singing it in the summer made it feel more like a celebration. Michigan Weather was apparently unhappy with this criticism because in the distance, the angry rumblings of a quite typical Michigan summer storm could be heard. Scott was able to finish his set as the first shocking drops began to hit. Annie promptly called out to all of us to grab a chair and move under the tarp.

A break here to discuss the atmosphere. People were so friendly! Some band members who wouldn't be playing for hours showed up to enjoy the music and the company. Encouragement was generously given from the audience in the form of loud applause, screaming and singing along. This nice atmosphere was slightly stifled when we all moved under the tarp that covered the area in front of the garage. The pounding rain drowned out poor Stargazer who was playing in the sweltering garage while sweating on his bass. A few of us moved into the garage with him while the majority of the audience stood under the tarp. Stargazer finished his set about 20 minutes early, citing an abundance of coffee.

THE VICTROLAS

The Victrolas (as Greg from GLMS explained) was a name that he had come up with so that he could record a song for a magazine under something other than his own name. Greg was set up in Annie's basement, surrounded by ugly sheets. When me and the first few people came downstairs we kind of leaned up against the dryer. It took Tim saying, "I'm not afraid to sit on the blankets," for us all to stop being cool, and start getting comfortable. I have to say, I was really curious about how this set was going to be. I was actually blown away. The combination of sitting in such a humble setting with some very cool people and Greg's amazingly strong voice made it a once in a lifetime occurrence. Greg admitted that he had to print out the lyrics to his own songs because of how infrequently he played them. He also shared "the weirdest fucking song" he'd ever written. After declaring that "summer was invented for things like this" (to which Tim replied, "basement shows?") Greg told us all to go back upstairs because it was fucking nice again. We all did as we were told, after giving him a loud, echoey round of applause. I decided as I joyfully walked out the door into a sparkling summer day that I needed beer and now was the time to get it. I practically pranced down the sidewalk, not bothering to avoid puddles and called my brother to leave him a breathless message about how much fun I was having. The QD was indeed a few short blocks away and boasted an excellent beer selection. I found Leinenkugel's Summer Shandy (amazing stuff! Has lemonade in it!) asked for some No. 9s at the counter, was double IDed, paid and was on my way back. As I got close to the backyard, I heard a very familiar song...turns out Zach Curd is from the Pop Project and I had missed most of his set! Shit!

ZACH CURD

I did manage to catch three songs, one of which he promised would be on their next CD. I love the poppy, self-referential songs Zach writes. I later talked a short bit to him and he seems really cool. He was sweating his ass off playing in the garage, in what I imagine was an attempt to keep his expensive keyboard safe from any water coming off the trees after the downpour.

THE NOVEL CITIZEN

These guys looked like high school kids to me, and for all I know, could be. They didn't play like high school kids though. Not like any I've ever met, anyway. They laughingly told the audience that they had tried to scale back. I'd like to see what a full-blown show looks like! I really enjoyed this band's sound which was dominated by electric guitar and trombone. The lead singer's voice is reminiscent of David Byrne's, which was an unexpected twist. As I was leaving later in the evening, I talked to some of the band members, told them how much I enjoyed them and said I'd keep an eye out for them when they came back into town from a German tour.

THIS IS DEER COUNTRY

For whatever reason, these guys came on during a time of the day when I felt it necessary to mill about and not pay attention...wait...maybe this is a good time to tell you about the funniest and coolest thing that happened to me. I think this was probably the reason for my state of distraction. I needed to use the bathroom after having drunk three beers, so in I went. A bit earlier, some cords had to be run through the bathroom and this prevented the door from closing properly. Not really a problem for anyone who knew other people, but for a lone wolf like me...that would mean either pissing as fast as I could or relying on the kindness of strangers. The second time I was waiting in line, Scott from GLMS was after me. The people in front of me had guarded the door for each other and left. I was on my own...until Scott asked if he wanted me to guard the door. I'm sure I looked like a giddy idiot when I said, "oh sure! Thanks!" I went in, peed, washed and dried my hands, the whole time thinking how odd it was to be doing all of this within earshot of a guy who I'd never actually met. I went to push the door open and it wouldn't move. Scott told me, "You can't come out!" Thinking it was a joke, I whined, "Wait! Why not!?" He moved away from the door, poked his head in and said, "They're putting beer in the fridge. Now do you think you can actually get out?" HA! When I was finally able to escape, I volunteered to watch the door for him. He seemed really surprised that I would do this and said thanks. When he came out, he shook my hand and said, "I'm Scott." I fought the urge to say, "I know" and introduced myself. He then said, "I actually washed that hand. Just that one!" I tried to wipe the grin off my face as I walked back outside, and couldn't resist texting Jason about the whole thing! So, back to This is Deer Country. From what I heard, I liked them. Kate Pote has a really nice voice that I got to hear later during GLMS's set because she was singing along with everyone else. They're from Houghton, MI, so I'm not sure if I'll get to hear them live again, which is kind of a shame.

THE MIGHTY NARWHAL

It's probably impossible to capture all of The Mighty Narwhal on a cell phone camera at once, but there you go. The first time I had seen these guys I was distracted and the only part of their performance that had sunk in was Kyle's amazing talent of multitasking (the guy plays like five billion instruments...at once!). This time, surrounded by strangers (except Linda, who I had met during another solo trip to the bathroom. She walked in on me, and I then asked if she would like me to watch the door for her. I decided that because we had shared peeing, we ought to know each other's names), feeling independent, and full of joy, I was able to allow the whole sound of The Mighty Narwhal to wash over me instead of focusing on each piece. They really are a great band. Unfortunately, they had to cut things short because it started to rain again. Once again, we all fled to the tarp and the portable pavilion that GLMS had brought. This storm was way stronger than the first one and the tarp was in danger of filling up and collapsing. I had already gotten soaked on the dash inside, so I took on tarp duty. I smiled at my fellow tarp fluffers (that's dirty but I'm going to say it anyway) as we bonded over water and the plastic keeping it off everyone else. When things let up a little The Natural Monuments moved downstairs to play. They were the only band that I missed completely. While they were playing, GLMS prepared to set up somewhere. I was really hoping that it wouldn't be in the basement, because the crush of people would have been awful. I needn't have worried. That fickle woman, Michigan Weather loves her native sons who preach of her beauty and accordingly allowed the sun to peek through just in time for Great Lakes Myth Society to set up.

GREAT LAKES MYTH SOCIETY

Here's the ironic thing: I'd been waiting all day to see them, the latter part of it clutching a dried off chair to make the made dash to the seating area...and ended up a few rows back because I failed to notice that they had set up somewhere else. No matter, I was able to get a bit closer, and take some good pictures. What can I say that could accurately describe how I feel about this band? Annie said it best when she choked back her tears at the awesomeness of having the band that started her passion for Michigan music play in her backyard. Yeah. That's how I felt too. There were so many things special about this GLMS performance. The location, their uncharacteristic summer attire, the audience's raucous appreciation and singing along, a surprise performance of "Nailed to the Body of Lincoln," and Scott having to play a retuned acoustic guitar because any electricity used to power an amp might have killed the lot of them. Mostly what made it special was what always makes a GLMS show special, their generosity, their humor, their camaraderie, and their amazing musicianship. I'm so glad that I remembered to record most of their set, because loud and unbalanced as it is, I think it accurately recorded the excitement of the band and the lucky, lucky audience. And so my adventure came to a close with covertly launched bottle rockets, a perfectly chosen rendition of "Big Jim Hawkins" and a group thank you to Annie's tolerant neighbors. Many many thank yous to Annie and Erik for putting everything together so well, that a stranger like me could just show up and be blown away.

1 comments so far

Clay Crush Level:

Today I Saw:

The Weather is:

Take my survey!