newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

GLMS CD Release Party

2007-06-11 1:03 a.m.

Before I forget all the splendor that was the Great Lakes Myth Society Compass Rose Bouquet CD release party, I figured I should write about it a bit.

I've been thinking about this show for, oh, like five months or something, so I would like to start by saying that it surpassed my expectations, which is completely amazing.

I'll skip the descriptions of getting ready, so let's just say that I was made up, hairsprayed, and ready by the time 8:30 PM rolled around. Another 30 minutes wasted so that we wouldn't be the only ones milling about with the band, and we drove to what will probably go down as one of the best shows I've ever been to.

An arm-hair biting wrist-band, eight bucks (paid with a five, a one, an Adams dollar and four quarters), and a Little Green Sprout stamp later and the vast floor space of the Magic Stick was finally opened to us. I had supressed a squee at seeing Scott on the stairs on the way up. I've always tried keep my shit together around this band. I guess because I occassionally correspond with them via MySpace and see them at shows I feel like I should be, you know, a human being with no apparent mental problems. The Stick was already fuller than I thought it would be, little groups gathered here and there, composed of band members, their families and friends. There was a celebratory feeling in the air, evidenced by big, free smiles not ordinarily seen in this, one of the capitals of Hipsterville.

Leah and I each grabbed a PBR and tried not to run to the merch table. There, in an unassuming box next to their first CD was Compass Rose Bouquet (we'll see how many times I have to type Boquet before I finally get that right). I've been listening to my yoinked mp3s (thank God for Total Recorder) of "Heydays," "Debutante," "Summer Bonfire," and "March" since the songs first appeared on MySpace, but I'd been craving the chance to hear them in context, nestled between their brothers on this album. We also purchased felt Michigan pins from Handmade Detroit emblazoned with GREAT LAKES MYTH SOCIETY and a glued on heart. Apparently, Leah hearts Detroit while I heart Ann Arbor. We took our newly acquired goods to the nearest table and frantically ripped open the plastic to finally, after all these months feel the music. I checked on some lyrics (OH! It's nubile skin meets car seat leather!) so that I would be well informed when it came time to sing along, and then we pinned on our Mittens and...waited.

Before too long, Chris Bathgate took the stage and played a really good, and interesting set. I'll definitely be trying to check them out again. Sometime between Chris Bathgate and American Mars, my brother arrived, decked out, as promised, in a black shirt and red tie. I told him he was being supportive of the band. We impatiently stood through an uninspiring set by American Mars, and planned our rush forward.

Leah and I darted forward as soon as the band was done and positioned ourselves in the middle, about two rows of people back. The area filled in quickly and Jay lagged behind a bit, which probably didn't hurt his view as he's a giant. We watched the band begin to set up. Tim hauled out hand-painted water decorations. Scott positioned his three bottles of PBR (which Jay nearly offered to pay for at the bar, but felt that he couldn't, in good conscious, contribute to Scott's apparent drunkeness) on his amp. Three lanterns were placed around the stage. Excitement built as people started to sing along with "Reach Out" on the house music. Scott came out, with his digital camera and a devilish grin, and nodded his head with what can only be interpreted as glee and took a series of photos that he seemed pleased with. Hopefully, these will surface, because I'd love to know what the size of the crowd was like.

Hmmm what song did they start with? I'd like to say "Heydays". Well, when they did sing that, everyone sang along, but positively bellowed "just haircuts and jackets." Annie and Erik were in the audience (we spoke to them earlier) and I'm sure were just glowing with delight over what was clearly a reference to their locally famous blog.

There was accordion trouble, which poor Tim tried so hard to fix whilst Jamie, the older brother looked on in amusement, saying, "what did you do now, Tim?" A thrown together fix of second mic and "No. VI" was launched, sort of. Tim botched the year in the first line and laughed. So did all of us.

They played a few new songs which I now recognize as: "Nightfall at Electric Park," "Eastern Birds," and "Raindrops & Roses". They also played their hit, "Across the Bridge" which nearly killed me and a few people around me, judging by the gasps, screaming and exclamations. You see, the whole show people sang along. Myself included. It felt like being surrounded and part of a giant wave of joy. That sounds so sappy. But it's true. I could not stop looking back at my brother and grinning or sticking my tongue out. I stamped my feet to "Big Jim Hawkins" and yelled "DRUNK ON THE WEEKEND!" during "Summer Bonfire."

At some point, I saw Scott make a flicking motion with his fingers and caught a glint of something. And then for some reason, I forgot that it happened. A few seconds later, Jay was crouched at my feet, holding a ruby-colored pick aloft. I snatched it, and stuffed it in my pocket, to be contemplated later.




I should say right now, before I forget, that Tania, Jamie's wife and their violinist was there. It was so awesome to have that missing element filled in. Jamie called her his Dutch goddess, and then yelled at everyone for howling too loud over her.

Fido made me crack up with his sheer enthusiasm. To me the looks on his face embody what it must be like to make music for a living, and be appreciated for it.

I think the show ended with "The Gales of 1838". Greg came out into the audience and pointed the mic at people, all while we bellowed "wine and wine, and wine and more wine tonight". Dudes, he was standing right next to me while this happened. It was less about being next to someone in a band and more about being in the middle, nay, part of a performance.

When they were done, Scott came stumbling off the stage, right at us, shaking hands and excitedly slurring "That was so great!"

Jay, Leah and I stood around and gushed, until we decided that it was time for our last beer and some nervous mingling. We stood around near Tim while he was asked for autographs(!) I just wanted to clink my bottle against his humorously large can of Foster's and say "awesome and thanks". This chance came and I did just that. We chatted excitedly in the rising din of the speaker that was right behind us. We talked about how it sucked to drive home alone from ELFest and how awesome it would be if they threw a Fall ELFest. Jay shook hands and did his thing and Leah said hey.

Behind us, Scott held court. Jay pointed out that this was my chance. We kinda turned around and Scott started talking to Jay. He said something like, "I kept looking at you and if you were going (nods head) than I knew we were good!" He then introduced himself and Jay said, "I know." Which threw Scott off to the point that he said, "Oh man, have we met!? Am I a dick that I don't remember you?" Jay explained that he knew him from the band and that I was a big fan. Scott turned to me, shook my hand and before I knew it I was saying, "oh you held the bathroom door shut for me at ELFest!" And then, in what for me was probably the coolest moment of the night, a spark of recognition lit in his (lovely) blue eyes. "YEAH! Oh that was a mutual nicety! Now I can hug you!" And he did. For too long. His brown suit was polyester and I could feel him sweating through it. This is one fucking nice man, by the way. I mean, really, we were just two people being nice, and I got this outburst of affection. Sigh. Awesome.

Jay took his leave soon and we stuck around because I just felt like I had to say something to Greg about his solo set at ELFest. I did and he said,"Oh. It sucked, but it was fun!" We also met the super-nice girl who plays violin for Chris Bathgate.

The whole show was supposed to have been filmed. I'd love to see it.

What do I say in closing? This band makes music that I love. They are also amazing people. They've brought to me the edge of a community that I didn't even know existed and that, given some time, I might actually be a part of. My mantra last night, which I could never have imagined following through with say, six months ago was, "it is dorkier to not say something to someone than it is to say something."

0 comments so far

Clay Crush Level:

Today I Saw:

The Weather is:

Take my survey!