newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Frosted Windowpanes:

Every Woman wants the Clay Aiken Alien Love Robot for Christmas

2004-12-24 2:21 a.m.

Dear Diary,

I'm back from my first and only Clay Aiken Christmas concert. It was such a different experience and I'm glad I had it. To hear his voice in a venue that has such amazing acoustics is a treat. There was not a moment during the show that he didn't sound clear as a bell.

Our seats were great. They were slightly elevated and off to the right side of the stage. We got to see him prowl through the crowd during "What are You Doing New Years Eve" and that was amazing. Most of the time, he's all smiles and song. But then, like a flipped switch, he puts on this face, this magnetic searing gaze that makes you embarrassed to look at him.

He was fucking funny tonight too. He always does little bits during the show, but tonight he seemed to extend them as far as they would go. He talked about how Detroit had given him the closest thing to a white Christmas he'd ever had. He mocked us when we "awwwwwed" for him not playing the piano. He fixated on Quiana's bizarre habit of putting Vaseline on her feet. He snarked on a drunk dude's handwriting. He did a bit of soft-shoe and slow danced with Angela.

The best part, however are the last two songs: "Don't Save it All for Christmas Day" and "Good News". You can really tell when he's feeling the message of a song and I think that "Don't Save it..." encapsulates his beliefs about how people should be treated. He showboats during it, but you can't fault him for letting that glory note loose. He's got it to give.

"Good News" is a beautiful presentation. Clay stands alone in front of a gauzy curtain and the choir behind it. Occasionally, the lights illuminate the choir behind the curtain. It's really a beautiful effect that adds to the other-worldly feel of the song and performance. Permanently etched into my brain is a vision of Clay, hands outstretched, palms up gazing heavenward as the curtain fell.

Had a great time before and after with some Broads. Deb is an amazing planner and can flirt with a waiter like no one else. Happy Birthday Babe, and don't you dare buy another pack of Virginia Slims!

In 9 hours I will be working on Christmas Eve for the first time in my life. Perhaps some of the joy I felt tonight will carry over into tomorrow. I'll try to imagine Clay gliding around singing "Christmas Waltz" in his well-fitting pants...

1 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: Prowl baby Prowl!

Today I Saw: My little Chinese shoes become soaked with snow...duh!

The Weather is: Very fucking COLD

Take my survey!