newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Raleigh

2004-10-23 3:18 p.m.

Yes I survived Raleigh, NC. It was an experience I will never forget. Instead of doing my usual drawn-out, "when the fuck is she going to finish this damn story" recaps, I'm going to take a cue from other, better writers and go with the highlights format.

Sunday Highlights

*Upon arriving in Raleigh an hour late (damn "broken" planes) I was greeted by Nelle, Erin, Kat, Melissa and Kelley. I hopped into the back (not to be confused with the way-back) of Erin's van. I was immediately regaled with Melissa's travel stories. And for the first of what would be countless times, my eyes were streaming and my gut hurt from laughing.

*North Carolina barbecue is the best. Clay, I just thought you were just trying to be a good hometown boy when you told Kelly that it was the best thing you could ever put in your mouth, but clearly you cannot tell a lie. I will be craving the pulled pork and hot sauce for the rest of my life.

*Convincing Melissa to stuff a full bottle of said hot sauce under her tit. Too bad the waitress saw us and our guilt forced you to put it back.

*Finally seeing Clay's clothes up close at the North Carolina History Museum. Those docents were prepared. They saw us coming a mile away. We signed the guestbook and made our way to the famous garments. I'm sure everyone says this, but I'm saying it again. He is fucking tiny. The circumference of his cuffs is smaller than my wrist. His pant legs look like my calves wouldn't be able to push through. But the shoes fucking slayed me. So big. And to see the scuff on the front and the heel marks on the inside was bizarre. He'd worn these shoes. He performed in them. We hoped for a sniff, but it didn't look like it was going to happen.

*Our...uh...tour of Raleigh. We definitely drove by the YMCA. And we definitely saw some graffiti near his high school that prompted the non-stop parroting of "the Juice is Loose". Little did I know that the Kroger I bought my AMP and Pearl Glide tampons from was the very one that Clay sneakily changed for a date in.

*Getting to our hotel and just plopping down on the king-sized bed. Yes, all five of us fit. It was like a slumber party. And frankly I don't think I've ever felt more comfortable that close to that many women before in my life.

*Hoisting our lazy asses up from said bed to get gussied up for Kimberley Locke's concert and the bar afterwards.

*While watching K.lo, we heard screams to our left and we just knew that it was Clay. This was later confirmed by the cutest videos of Clay and his posse dancing and grinding to Eighth World Wonder.

*My first trip to a gay bar. Legends didn't know what hit it. I'm sure it has never seen so many straight women. Our bartender Possum could have gotten laid so many times, if he had only been straight *sigh*. Sitting there bitching with Melissa and Kat was just like sitting anywhere with Melissa and Kat.

Melissa seemed to be intent upon me getting blasted. What she doesn't know is that it would have taken a lot more than what I even drank.

*My first drag show. Three beautiful men dolled up to make us all look like gutter filth. The costumes alone were worth the applause. Also, "The First Cut is the Deepest" is on my work soundtrack, so the first day back to work, when I heard it, I had to fight the urge to parade around in my red corset and high heels like Ms. Dana St. James.

*Sharing the shittiest sofa bed in the world with Kelley. It would have been more enjoyable had we been able to turn the heat on without setting off the smoke alarm and if there had been extra blankets.

*Hearing Melissa, Kat and Erin giggling from the other room and just having to get up and see what all the fuss was about. By the way, some of our best in jokes were made that night. Also, I fell out of the bed twice.

Monday

*Scurrying around like lunatics trying to get ready for check-out. Of course I was up first, because I'm incapable of sleeping through the night on a trip. I got on line finally and downloaded the famous inappropriate humping video clip to enjoy with friends.

*The loud, craziness that is a Broadfest. Nelle standing on a chair to make an announcement about the Purple Roses Project.

*The afternoon concert. I should have known I'd be sobbing through the whole thing. Seeing Clay live with people that you love is the best. They don't think you're nuts.

*Seeing the floating head of Jacob one more time and then having my screams of joy be documented by the Clackhouse's musicmama.

*Feeling Melissa's tears on my hand as she kissed and held it.

*Seeing Clay in the daylight for the first time.

*Feeling "You Were There" for the first time. Seeing people raise their hands up to the Lord during this song really sent it home for me. I was ugly crying to it. Clay loves God, and isn't afraid to show it.

*Walking Erin, Melissa and Kat back to the van. What a long sad walk past crowing roosters and mooing cows. Our good-byes never get easier.

*The evening show. Seeing Clay from the ninth row was amazing. As soon as the first notes of "Where the Streets have No Name" sung out, I had the chills. He did the driving move with gusto. He was so exuberant and luminous, it makes my heart hurt even now.

*Seeing Clayton with a four-year old named Brianna from American. He immediately kneeled down to be at her height level. He spoke softly and simply but did not condescend her. He motioned for us to be quiet so she would not be scared. His face was open and lit-up while he mouthed the words of "Without You" with her. Seriously the most beautiful thing I've ever seen him do. If I had been with my manzees, I would have been a puddle.

*Seeing Clay JUMP down to the lower level of the stage during "Invisible". His joy just made him spring around like a lunatic.

*Getting to have a conversation with Diana Kilbridge. She's an amazing woman with a lot to say.

*Getting three hours of sleep in a different state than my midterm exam.

*Chatting with CAP 121 all the way home on two different planes. We probably could have talked about Clay for another five hours.

All in all, the trip was exhausting. I still haven't recovered. Because I want to be with my friends all the time and near Clay every day.

Kelly

3 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: Oh baby. You don't even know.

Today I Saw: My kitties sleeping together

The Weather is: COOOOOOOOOLD!

Take my survey!