newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

My Wish

2004-07-05 6:56 p.m.

Dear Diary,

Today is the kind of day where you call everyone you know and they're all out doing something more fun than you. But you stick around the house waiting for all your phone calls to be returned, except they never are. Then, three days later, everyone calls you, and you then have to make a choice between all of your friends. That last part is my worst nightmare. I hate that even more than I hate having nothing to do. That is kind of what's going on with my job situation. I accepted a position because it was the only position offered to me at the time. A few days later, I get two phone calls from companies I'd like to work for more. Now I have two interviews set up in the midst of me being trained for the job I didn't really want in the first place.

I've discovered something about myself recently. Because I'm unemployed, I'm always looking for free entertainment. This American Life has been providing me with that for awhile. And listening to the stories on this show has made me augment my dreams. Fuck becoming a forensic scientist. Fuck writing. Fuck fucking Clay Aiken. I simply want to be on This American Life. That's it. I want Ira Glass to say my name, introduce my witty story, or interview and then hear my voice coming out of the radio. Hopefully, my story would be tragically funny, or touching or something. It's not like I'd be suddenly famous or anything, but a small, intelligent audience would sit there, rapt listening to what I had to say.

In the vein of funny anecdotal stories, here's something I did today. I was finishing up I Have Lived in the Monster, a decent book by Robert Ressler, co-founder of the FBI's Behavoral Science Unit and I drifted off in the still air of the living room. Mind you, I was lying on the couch I hate so much, so the sleep was ill-fated to begin with. I was suddenly dragged to consciousness by the sound of the phone ringing. I stared at the caller ID in befuddlment. It said Costco. In my stupor, I began cursing because I thought I had missed my interview there. I answered the phone and at first, it seemed that my paranoia was confirmed. The person on the other end said, "You had an interview today...that was cancelled." I breathed a sigh of relief and then nearly laughed because the whole reason I was laying on the couch reading was that my interview had been cancelled. I rescheduled with the woman and hung up. It was only then that I realized that my heart was racing. It felt like it was going to shoot out onto the carpet. All because those fuckers called me while I was asleep.

1 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: I watched the terribly cheesy "A Capitol Fourth" for him. Now that's love.

Today I Saw: Not a whole hell of a lot.

The Weather is: Seems nice enough.

Take my survey!