newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Bursting with Clay Goodness

2004-05-27 11:19 a.m.

Non-Clay fans...plug your ears.

I am once again overcome with love for Clay. It happens to me every once in awhile. It happens to me over Leah's cats, too. It's a matter of personality I guess.

Watching American Idol's third finale last night was nothing less than painful really. Sure I squealed when the giant group number was on, but I think my glee over oddly choreographed group numbers may be a genetic flaw. Yes I got a little misty watching Fantasia cry. How can you not feel like crying watching someone else cry? But the real reason I was watching, was to see Clay. "What?" you say, "Clay wasn't singing". I know. Just like any piece of Clay information given to me by family and friends, I knew it ahead of time. I tuned in to watch him host a pimp-party for Fantasia.

When the giant Jumbotron first showed him, I felt an instant smile appear. There was my man, dressed terribly as usual, grinning and being a fantastic correspondant. His tie was hideous, but oh-so-adorably stuffed into his shirt. His hair was actually fantastic, compared to recent atrocities (seriously, Clay, beaker was cute and funny, but you do not want to emulate a foam puppet). His giggle was infectious, and that smile of resignation at the overwhelming noise of the crowd was familiar and endearing.

But the real reason for my rush of love was the fact that Clay is continually put in a position that offers him less glory than he deserves. And what does he do? He behaves impeccably, deferring to the star of the day. Yet he shines in the background, in all his classy wonder. Personally, I like to attribute it to his religious upbringing, as Christians are taught to give God the glory for all accomplishments; that we are here to do His work, etc, etc. I might even go so far as to say he is being tested, to see how well he does with all this adulation.

Whether or not you agree or believe, you have to admit, no matter what situation his crappy management company put him in, he always seemed to do the best possible job he could.

Even though I'm sure there were numerous hissy fits in private.

Kelly

Special Thanks to MnM for the screencap!

6 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: Beautiful. Classy. Heartable.

Today I Saw: My Zitty face in the mirror

The Weather is: Kinda cool and sunny

Take my survey!