newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Vegas: Part Funf

2004-05-14 4:40 p.m.

After our Liberace museum, we all piled back into our cars and got back on the road. It was now time for a Clay Aiken related trip. You see, awhile back, Clay was in Las Vegas and rode the Manhattan Express in NY NY. Since there were a bunch of us there and we all love Clay, we thought we'd take a trip on the Express as well. I'd ridden it before, and so I tried to assure Leah that it would be ok, even if it did go upside down. Leah, Lila, Mitzy and myself waited in line, while everyone else watched our stuff. The ride was great, as it was sunny and warm out and it coasts over the city, affording a spectacular upside down view of the strip.

I informed Leah of the location of the camera by yelling, "Here we go!" and promptly doing an insane jazz hands pose. Leah followed suit. We stumbled off the ride and headed toward the photo booth. Upon seeing this:

Leah decided we couldn't live without it, and bought it.

After that we took Bootsy back to his hotel, grumbling all the way. You see, having Leah sit on my lap for one ride was funny and crazy. Two times was tolerable, but the third time, in the sun, sweating was not fun. We booted Bootsy and sighed with relief.

Back at the hotel, we relaxed and got ready for our big night. Before long, it was time to pile into the shuttle buses and head over to the Hofbrauhaus. When we arrived, we were giddy to see how large it was. Inside, it was clear that for once in the past year we were in the majority somewhere. Clay fans had overrun the place. All denominations were represented, and the staff and the few non-Clay customers seemed amused and overwhelmed.

The gift giving began. Bags of candy, leis, boingy pens, CDs, candles and mementos of all kinds were handed out. Lila completely outdid all of us by handing out old promotional photographs of Clay when he was in Just By Chance.

Everyone screamed. I couldn't stop staring at his nineteen year old face.

Soon the food and beer arrived. It was great to see the sophisticated women I know and love lug big beers up to their faces.

It was frightening to see the sophisticated women I know and love do nasty things with sausages, but I suppose at a German restaurant, it was impossible to avoid.

Soon, things got crazy. The famous Clig made its appearance atop the beautiful Kelly in RI's head. She was all decked out in a replica of Clay's blue concert ensemble, and with the Clig on her head, the resemblance was quite stunning. I could not pass up this opportunity to don the Clig, and so quietly asked Kelly if I could. She was more than willing to share the spotlight, and I snapped that sucker on and let the paparazzi begin. It's hard to explain how weird it feels to be photographed like that. I, of course, am incapable of making normal faces while being photographed and well�

*sigh*

When our meal was over, it soon began to set in that we were, in fact going to be seeing Clay very very soon�and together! Danielle had brought her car and Leah, Kat, Melissa and myself joined her on the short drive to the Thomas and Mack Center. We parked and proceeded to get ourselves completely worked up listening to Clay's American Idol performances and Solitaire. Tears were shed. The car almost rolled over, and it was time to join the throngs inside.

Leah, Danielle, Jan and I met up and found our seats. I had had no expectations, except that I would be sitting with people I love, so when saw how good our view was, I couldn't stop exclaiming how great the seats were. I hopped around from Broad group to Broad group, squealing with each. Then it was time for me to do something I hate, beg for money.

You see, I was desperate to have a Clay Aiken tour shirt. Yet, having lost my job, I knew it was an extravagant item. Several of the Broads had told me that if I needed anything while we were in Vegas, to let them know. I visited my sugarmama, Audra in her second row seats. I told Robin what I was doing and while Audra and I were talking, Robin disappeared. When she came back she was clutching money. It seems she had taken up a collection for me to get a shirt. I started bawling. I snotted on the spangly vest that Audra had worn into the show, I snotted on Robin's sleeve. They hugged me, told me I deserved it and yelled at me to go get in line.

After what seemed like ages, I was through and the proud owner of an army green Clay Aiken tour shirt. I made my way back to my seat and chatted with Danielle, Leah and Jan, whipping up our excitement into a frenzy. It didn't take much since Jan had never seen Clay live before and we were all channeling her excitement as well as our own.

We sat through the Beu Sisters, stood off and on for Kelly and when the intermission between Kelly and Clay came, we knew it was time. Jumping Jan came into being, spreading love and giddiness to all. We saw Diana Kilbridge slip in just minutes before Clay began�

The lights went down. Everyone roared. Kyrie began. The furious searching for him began. Leah stood on her seat and surveyed the area. And there he was, right behind us. I screamed like crazy. Leah told me later that she was unprepared for the sheer volume and exuberance in her own scream. He walked down to the stage, allowing himself to be ogled up close by his subjects, for he was king.

Most people reading this know the set list, so I'll just recap things that stuck out for me.

*During the phone banter, his squeal and girlish scream were more extreme than ever, it seemed. Loved it.

*We witnessed the birth of the growl on "I Survived You". He was channeling some serious demons that night, because the deep throaty "Anyone but yourself" melted the growly "Watch" from Invisible with the fire of a thousand suns.

*Poor Danielle must have felt manhandled by the end of the show, because all I could do was grasp her arm and mutter "Oh my God" over and over again.

*All About Love was one of the most joyful things I've ever seen. It made me jump and sing and clap like nothing I've ever experienced�except "Shout" which is another matter.

*We witnessed the last day that Clay's hair would cooperate without a haircut. Halfway through the show, the middle flattened out and left the sides standing like some homage to Flock of Seagulls.

*"When Doves Cry" was a return to the subtle sexiness seen in the earlier shows. Clay's constant grip on Angela's belt and her caresses on his chest were making me go nuts.

*Seriously, this was the best live Clay show I've been to. His voice was in impeccable form and highly emotional. He seemed like he was having the time of his life too.

Stay tuned for the final chapter in my Vegas Chronicles�

Kelly

4 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: Fantasy, a lame-o disco song has implanted itself in my brain...minus the lyrics

Today I Saw: Me get $25 for an extremely heavy box of used books. John King Books ROCKS!

The Weather is: Turbulent

Take my survey!