newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Farewell Ferndizzle

2004-02-27 1:29 p.m.

Dear Diary,

Well, I suppose enough time has gone by since this happened, so I'll spill. I am losing my job. I found out I was being laid off from the library on Wednesday. I'm a good eavesdropper so I knew there was something up in this department, but I was not aware that they were going to can ALL of the part-time employees. Three others are losing their jobs, as well.

My boss came up to me on the front desk and just told me right there. I really resent her for that, but it did keep me from crying...for awhile. She told me that the City had only wanted to give us two weeks, but she fought to get us three. So, folks, in three weeks I will leave the job I've been working since my sophomore year of my first degree. October of 1998. I remember that it was unusually warm on the day of my first interview. I wore a long brown dress and still had long red hair. I was thinner, too.

Later in the day, (Wednesday, not my interview day)my supervisor (not my boss) came up to me to tell me how sorry she was. This is when I started to cry. Of course, it was the first day in months that I had decided to wear mascara, so I had to go collect myself and mop up before I came back.

Thank God for Harold. He's the only male on staff, and we have so much fun. He saw my hopelessness seeping in and decided to take action. He fed me some bitchy gossip about my boss and supervisor and then promptly found two jobs for me to look into. He assured me that I could get a job anywhere, doing anything, and while I was there, at work that day, I believed him. I definitely believed him enough to just finish printing out my resume on high-quality business paper.

Strangely, I'm not feeling terrible about it today. I'm sure this has something to do with the fact that Clay just started his tour and all the frenzy associated with it makes it feel like summer again. My Clay friends and I have been staying up late to collect the bootleg videos that invariably surface several hours after the end of each concert. We then stay up later watching them together, states away from each other, gushing and getting overwhelmed with excitement and anticipation. I'm really glad for all of this really. I could just be moping around staring into space, but I'm not. My friends have my back (internet and otherwise) and that makes me feel good.

Expect another update soon, as I have the much anticipated (by all of you) last chance date tonight.

Kelly

2 comments so far

Clay Crush Level: When Doves Cry. More like When Kelly Pees

Today I Saw: Scrambled Eggs

The Weather is: Sunny and Beautiful

Take my survey!