newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Dog-Faced girl and nips like diamonds: My adventures North of the 45th Parallel

2001-08-29 1:36 p.m.

Dear Moo,

Sorry about the lack of updates recently. I went on two trips that took me away from my computer for a time, but they also provided me with much to write about.

The first trip was with Katie and Tina to go visit Jennifer before she moved to Marquette to go to school. Some highlights.

**The now regularly occuring pizza toss. This time the desire to chuck pizza seemed more powerful and focused. Jennifer was kind enough to recommend drop zones for the pizza. These were 1)The funeral home. Cruel sounding, but it's not like I pegged a grieving family with the greasy olive encrusted stuff. 2)Family Video. Down with corporate scum! This one was exciting because there were still people picking their movies out. 3)The fountain. A totally unattainable goal. The slice ended up on the sidewalk around the pizza so I'm sure it still caused a little mayhem 4)The trailer. See picture below. There was a tiny trailer with a mailbox that just called to us. They looked like they could use a lump of coagulated cheese and olives in a greasy box. 5)The Blair Witch House. The place was a garage turned into a residence which is seemingly empty now.

**Finding a road that Tina and Jennifer claim was never there before and convincing Tina to drive down it with her low sitting car. Immense hilarity. This is the kind of stuff that happens when four twenty-somthing girls get together and try to be scared. We all wanted to see something really frightening, so this road was it. It was lined with homes protected by electric fences. Unfortunatly, stuff kept hitting the bottom of Tina's car and she sped backward to get us out. My favorite part is when I told her I could feel things hitting the bottom of the car and she told me to shut up. She apologized two breaths later, but it was still so desperate sounding.

**The dog-faced girl on the way home. On our trip back to Madison Heights, we encountered a car-load of teenagers who must have been practicing their bad attitudes all night. We were behind them on the road, and this ugly girl kept looking at us viciously out the back window. Tina proceeded to flip them off, and they returned the favor. The conclusion was made that they should have kept their dog-faced girlfriend in line or none of that would have happened.

Now on to the camping trip to Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore in the Upper Peninsula. Matt, Tom, Mike, Tina and myself all went up this past weekend for a little trip. Highlights.

**The drive up with Tina. Tina is the ultimate travelling companion. We talked about everything, including linguistics, sex and death. We listened to an incredibly cool mixed CD we made together and STP's Purple.

**The boys telling us they had scurvy and rickets when we arrived. Apparently the $120.00 they spent was on beer, chili and hot dogs.

**Swimming in Lake Superior in the rain. The water felt about 40 degrees. I had my heart set on swimming on this trip and damn it I was gonna do it. It took us about a half an hour to finally go in all the way, and for the rest of the swim we commented on how our limbs looked like they were going to fall off or that our nipples would never be soft again.

**Crying on the cliff. Matt and I took a little adventure off toward some cliffs on Monday. There was a really great trail through the woods above the cliffs that we took until it was washed out. Then we decided we would try to climb the cliffs back toward the beach. Well, fear overtook me and I began to cry while standing on the cliff. Matt rescued me and brought me back to the trail. I guess I'm not really the bad ass I thought I was.

More later,

Kelly

0 comments so far

Clay Crush Level:

Today I Saw:

The Weather is:

Take my survey!