newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Shanghai Darkness

2001-08-18 11:20 a.m.

Dear Moo,

Let me tell you about my completely bi-polar day. Yesterday, I had to work. Not big news if you read the entry before this one. Well it was as bad as I thought it was going to be. All kinds of idiots coming in to use the bathroom. My favorite idiots are the ones who pretend they are interested in the library while on their way to the bathroom. They sort of look around vaguely at the walls and decoration while slowly walking to the nook where the line for the crapper had begun. Or should I say "pisser", Tina? Anyway, things were really slow. But our favorite library patron came in: Mr. Snow. For those of you who know me, you know this guy. I have to share all my Snow stories with everyone or I will go crazy. Anyway, Snow was (as is usual) using our payphone and lobby as his own personal office. And also as usual, he was so loud that you could hear him at the back of the building over the noise of the Cruise. Well, TWO hours pass and he is still on the telephone, screaming at some poor lackey at his insurance agency, about how he was a medical doctor and yes he did get in an accident without car insurance and he needs his back. An old woman who also comes in all the time to use the telephone needed to use the phone. She told him so and his response was, "Look honey, I'm talking long distance here and I'm not getting off. And it's none of your damn business how loud I talk!" So I heard this and did the most cowardly thing I could do: go tell my boss. She is not cowardly and thoroughly enjoys confronting Mr. Snow. She walked right into that lobby and told him he was very rude to the lady and that she didn't care if he was talking long distance he needed to get off the phone. He ignored her and she took it to the next level. She called the cops! Oh yeah! So in about five minutes two bike cops show up to ensure that he got off the phone, which he did with out much fuss.

Another interesting thing that happened at work was much cooler than Mr. Snow. I was charged with the task of moving all of our TIME magazines to plastic organizer thingies. This was cool because our collection starts in 1942. The best part was looking at the SPAM and cigarette ads on the back. During WWII the food was rationed and according to Hormel, SPAM was the best buy because there was no bone and no excess fat. Just about every other week, there was a new and delicious way to prepare SPAM on the back. The cigarette ads were even funnier. "More doctors smoke Camel cigarettes than any other brand". Nice!

Now for the fun part of the day. The Magic 4 (as Matt has nicknamed Tom, Tina, Matt and myself) went out to play pool. We ended up at Mr. B's. Drinks were imbibed and playing got worse, especially when we gave ourselves a self-imposed time limit. After that we decided the best use of our time would be to watch Army of Darkness at Tom's while consuming more alcohol and bad for us foods. And that's just what we did. AoD in Surround Sound is really cool. After that we all watched Iron Chef. It was the Shanghai Cabbage battle. Cabbage ice cream, I don't think so.

Well,

Hope I didn't bore you,

Kelly

0 comments so far

Clay Crush Level:

Today I Saw:

The Weather is:

Take my survey!