newest

older
e-mail me
leave a note
homepage
Diaryland
Rings
LBFCA

Hail Yeah!

2001-06-03 6:56 p.m.

Dear Moo,

Well it has been an eventful retirement thus far. I finally have a car. However, as is usually the case, it has been a tragically eventful happening. My dad and I finally made the move to look at some cars at a tiny dealership in Warren. I found a 93 Ford Tempo that was to my liking for $1000. I drove the car home happily even though the interior needed some serious cleaning. It seemed that my problems were solved. Well they weren't. A day later I was driving around and realized that my temperature gauge was reading red hot. We fiddled with it for two days, trying to put in cheap, small parts that might fix the problem. When I finally decided to take it to a radiator shop, surprise surprise...$515 worth of work, without a new radiator. I begrudgingly paid the price and decided against the radiator (which I will be getting done tomorrow). The car I'm sure in the end will be just fine but right now I'm thinking a ten speed bike might have been a more cost efficient alternative.

Now on to the fun stuff. Memorial Day weekend was the Detroit Electronic Music Festival in Hart Plaza. It is basically an outdoor techno music extravaganza. And it's free. We went and saw some really awesome DJs and danced like idiots even if the weather didn't cooperate. This is Michigan, it never does. I had a first time experience there at the festival. I was hailed on. Pea-sized chunks of ice fell on me for about five minutes during the last week of May. It wasn't as bad as it sounds. It was actually kind of fun. I always enjoy extreme weather conditions. I figure I could say I was at the Memorial Day Storm 2001, if it were bad enough to get silly news coverage like that.

More to come later,

Kelly

0 comments so far

Clay Crush Level:

Today I Saw:

The Weather is:

Take my survey!